Photo by Alexander Mils on Unsplash

Do Your Research

The Upside Afternoon to a Downside Morning

Debra Emerson
3 min readJan 14, 2024

--

This morning the endocrinologist told me that I have a handful of choices to counteract mild osteoporosis in my lower back. And they were all drugs. My takeaway from my visit with him was that I had no choice in the matter.

I already exercise regularly and do weight resistance exercises too, but I asked him about diet and supplements. He said the only way forward was with one of these drugs. The once a year infusion for three years seemed more desirable than a weekly pill for five years, so I told him I would go that route.

But I knew I had to learn more and that I probably did have other choices. The medical profession can be quite good at diagnosing and in acute situations like fixing a broken bone or taking out an infected appendix, but they mainly speak the language of drug-or-surgery-ese.

Yet I know other languages.

I got home and did some research. The side effects of the drugs were many. Though it is possible I could get none, why solve one problem by potentially creating many more? The worst were kidney problems and losing bone mass in the jaw causing loose teeth. What? I thought we were improving bone density, not causing further loss in another part of the body.

Upside Afternoon

--

--

Debra Emerson

Educator and writer who loves nature, people, life, and making the world a better place. You can visit her at www.debraemerson.com.