photo by Mateus Campos Felipe in Unsplash

WordPress for Writers

The top 5 things I learned before launching my website

4 min readJul 11, 2021

--

I stopped dead in my tracks from taking Ayo Awosika’s Medium for Blogging Course when he suggested writers should also put their blogs on a WordPress site. This is not the first time I heard this. Off I went into the wild tech yonder.

A friend had success with hiring technical help online so I researched in Upwork and hired someone highly recommended for creating WordPress sites. It was a Friday. He said he was free on Monday and would finish Friday of the same week, which dragged out to a month and many headaches later.

But it didn’t work properly, nor did it look as up-to-date as I would have liked.

Hand on forehead and major sigh.

Head versus Heart

Learning how to work with Medium as a platform and how to set up and use a WordPress site has had my head spinning. There has been such a learning curve.

I just want to focus on writing and not get bogged down with all of this head-stuff. I keep reminding myself that there is a time for everything and I am laying a solid foundation for the future. But we all know how you can calmly rationalize with your head while your heart remains tied up in knots.

Tech Support After Thought

--

--

Debra Emerson

Educator and writer who loves nature, people, life, and making the world a better place. You can visit her at www.debraemerson.com.